Wiped

As several of you already know, as of last Thursday, I am no longer employed by Beckett Media. Also, the next issue of Beckett Massive Online Gamer, the Mar/Apr 2012 that was wrapped up and sent to the printers two weeks ago, will be the last issue. I won’t go too heavily into the boring details other than to say that it was killed for the same reason any product is: It didn’t make enough money. Feel free to leave comments about what we could’ve/should’ve done different or better, but I’ll probably ignore them. My time at Beckett was interesting to say the least, and I’m grateful for the opportunity I was granted, but I’m not that upset to have it put behind me.

The next logical question is, “What’s next?” In the short term, I’ll just be taking it easy, at least until the new year. After that, I’ll probably be looking for something else in the gaming field, in a writing, editing, or marketing capacity. I’ve actually already gotten a nibble from one of my former contacts at a major game company who says they might have some freelance work available. I’m not looking to go out and rush into a new full-time position just yet, though; I’ve got enough saved up that I should be OK for a while, and, more than anything, I want to find the right position instead of just the first one. I feel like choosing the latter over the former has led to some unpleasantness in my life in the past. And it would be really, really neat to go work for the primary source of income for a company rather than an afterthought or add-on to its existing business model, which is how it’s been at my last two jobs (and, to a lesser extent, at the two before it). In a sense, I’d like to go where I’m actually wanted and needed, rather than just going somewhere to fill a position. I know, in this economy, beggars can’t be choosers, but I’ll nurture the dream for a while, at least.

I’ll go to GDC and/or PAX East in the spring and exhibit my many talents (you should see the thing I can do with my tongue). I might even make a new effort to promote my book (which is really good, and I’m not just saying that — OK, maybe I am), and I hope they’ll still be willing to have an unemployed schmuck as an occasional guest on This Week in MMO. And of course, I’ll continue feeding this blog, nurturing it and watching it grow into a beautiful flower (that will eat you). In the next week or so, I’ll post two of the big end-of-year pieces I wrote for that last MOG, the results of our Reader’s Choice Awards and our Top 20 Games of 2012 (And Beyond).

Now if you’ll excuse me, it’s past 3:00, which means it’s time for my nap. See you… out there…

This entry was posted in The Fifth War, Video Games, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wiped

  1. hordemaster says:

    Jason, It is with great sadness that I receive this news. MMOG was my absolute favorite gaming magazine as it focuses on the genre I play most and love the most. I would literally drive to Barnes and Noble, just to get a copy every time a new issue came out and I devoured each article. You did some great work as did your cohorts, and there really is going to be a void there for me once it is no longer on the shelves. PC gamer mag is just not good enough!

    • jasonwinter says:

      Thanks, Ariel. Sorry we couldn’t connect on you doing any writing for us. Keep up your blogging, I like reading your stuff!

      Also, a few months back when you quoted Sean, I told him about it and he got a kick out of it.

Leave a Reply

