What is this?

Well, it’s a blog. Duh.

OK, maybe a little more explanation is in order. But first, some history.

I’ve had several blogs since I first created an account on LiveJournal back in 2004. At first, like most people, I just blogged to keep up with friends, but later I decided to branch out a bit and created a blog on The Sporting News’ website to chat with people I didn’t really know about sports. I had some good feedback, but I didn’t care much for some of their interface options, so I “moved” that blog to Blogger. At its peak, it got about 3,000 page views a month — not a ton, but not too bad for me just being some guy.

Things have changed since I started that blog in 2008, both for me and for social media as a whole, which has exploded. I got a job working at Beckett on Massive Online Gamer magazine, which has opened up my (oft-questionable) opinions on the gaming industry to a wider audience than ever before. I’ve created accounts on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Raptr, and probably a few more I’ve forgotten about (but not MySpace; I have some standards). I even wrote a book (technically, I’ve written three, but this is the good one, I swear!).

The problem is that I feel like I’m all over the place on the Internet but don’t have a single place I can direct people to if they want to learn more about me and what I do. Now, I realize that I’m not The Next Media Sensation, and I’m a long ways from living the lifestyle of the rich and famous, but I still thought there might be some value in creating a one-stop shop for all things “me,” whether it be my sports writing, my fiction writing, or my video game writing (and recording). Previously, I’d kept all of those focuses pretty well separated, but maintaining all those various forums has been taxing, and I thought that things would be much better in the long run if I established a single nexus for all my creative output.

Of course, it’s possible you don’t care about one (or more) of the topics I’ll be writing about here. WordPress to the rescue! I’ll do my best to properly categorize my posts so you can only read about the stuff you’re interested in. If what I post today isn’t your cup of tea, just check back the next day. Or week. Or whenever.

And hey, if you do like football and stats and fantasy novels and video games — or if my writing convinces you to check out things you aren’t normally interested in — then all the better.

That’s about it for now. Now if I can only find a way to get a dragon to write about playing football, I’d have the Grand Unifying Post…

This entry was posted in Video Games, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What is this?

  1. Im struggling to get a way to make contact with you through your website, do you not have a contact form on the website at all?

    • jasonwinter says:

      Not really. I’d rather not deal with the spam. What did you want to contact me about?

      • AlexB says:

        It is spam that they have posted. Their name is keyword targeted to their website. I’d just remove the comment even thought you have nofollow.

      • jasonwinter says:

        I’ve actually gotten a few rare legitimate conversations going that started like this, so I figured I’d give this one a chance. I’d totally forgotten about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

