Overloaded

“So what are you doing this weekend?”

Never before has that question been so overloaded, at least from a gaming point of view. I’ve been looking forward to the release of Skyrim for about a year now, and was all set to lose myself in Tamriel for a four-day weekend, when I got a invite in my e-mail to test a certain game over the weekend. You know what I’m talking about. This one.

Seriously, I got an invite to try out the Navy’s anti-piracy MMO this weekend, after hearing nothing about the project for six months. Sorry guys, but your timing is horrible. Here’s a rough timeline of how I predict tomorrow will go:

8:30 a.m.: Wake up.
9:15 a.m.: Get out of bed (fairly typical for a weekend for me).
10:30 a.m.: Head out to get lunch, Skyrim, and a haircut, not necessarily in that order.
11:55 a.m.: Hire a secretary, just so I can tell her to hold all my calls.

Does that include Force Lightning?

12:00 p.m.: Start installing Skyrim. Quiver in anticipation.
12:45 p.m.: Start up Skyrim.
12:48 p.m.: Kill a dragon.
3:48 p.m.: Realize I haven’t blinked for three hours. Blink. Go back to Skyrim.
5:00 p.m.: SWTOR beta period begins. Wait in queue.
7:13 p.m.: Survive queue, enter SWTOR. Start making first character.
7:57 p.m.: Finish making first character. Yeah, I’m one of those.
7:58 p.m.: A LONG TIME AGO IN A GALAXY yada yada yada
8:09 p.m.: Kill a dragon. They’ll have them, right?
9:47 p.m.: Blink.
10:38 p.m.: Log out of SWTOR. Go back to Skyrim.
10:49 p.m.: Pee break.
11:20 p.m.: Realize I haven’t eaten in 12 hours. Go into diabetic shock. And I’m not even diabetic.
11:24 p.m.: Skyrim > diabetic shock. Resume playing.
12:03 a.m.: Pass out. Dream about khajiit with lightsabers.
12:31 a.m.: Wake up. Get back into The Old Elder Skyrim Republiscrolls.
1:07 a.m.: Blink.
2:20 a.m.: Having not been certain which game I’ve been playing for the last two hours, realize that it’s finally time for bed.
2:46 a.m.: Actually go to bed.

And that’ll just the first day. Pray for me.

This entry was posted in MMOs, Video Games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

