50 MMOs in 50 Days #15: Earth Eternal

Last played: 2010
Experience: Very Minimal

I admit, I’m a sucker for extensive character creation options. One of the things that attracted me to Age of Conan was the fact that we had a strategy guide in the office at Beckett that detailed the game’s 12 classes – which made me all the more dismayed when I tried it and found that only four were available to free players. I really wanted a bear shaman!

Even having tons of options in a non-MMO, like Civilization or Total War, is like crack to a theorycrafter like me, who imagines all the cool things he could do with a character or faction that has subtle difference X or special power Y. Even though I know I’ll never get around to playing them all, I like that they’re there and that I have the option to start over with something completely different.

EE-hartEarth Eternal went a step beyond pretty much any other MMO out there, with a whopping 22 races to choose from. Many were anthropomorphic races, like the ursine (bears) or foxen (foxes), though there were a few fantasy-ish races (like cyclops and sylvari – I mean sylvan) tossed in as well. I think I created a hart, the deer race, and set off for adventure!

…none of which I can recall.

It happens, I suppose, when you try a game based on the thinnest premise, and only play it for a couple of days. Still, it annoys me that I can’t remember one thing about EE other than its plethora of races, but I guess that’s better than having any particular negative feelings about it.

Apparently, I wasn’t the only one who found the game lacking. Its Wikipedia page only lists dates for open and closed beta, and not an actual launch date (which is listed as “TBA”). I do vaguely recall an announcement of its financial difficulties, which the Wiki page said happened on Aug. 8, 2010. The game was shut down 23 days later “due to non-payment to their internet service provider.”

On my list of 50 games, Earth Eternal was definitely #50 in terms of my remembering anything significant about it, and I debated not putting it on the list. But it was better than any of my other “barely played” games, and I guess it says something that a game can be such that someone who doesn’t even particularly remember playing it still remembers it for something it did that was cool and unique. And no, I’m not a furry 😛

Do you have any memories of Earth Eternal?

This entry was posted in 50 in 50, MMOs, Video Games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

