50 MMOs in 50 Days #26: Landmark

Last played: 2014
Experience: Minimal

Landmark is the other “still unreleased” game on my list, but unlike ArcheAge, it’s still got a long ways to go before it’s finished, and it’s tough to say how it’ll turn out. Also, I haven’t tried the combat update, which just went in last week, though I thought it looked neat. But I have played a lot of Minecraft the past couple months, and I’m starting to see the parallels between the two.

It took me years and a couple aborted tries (and the right person ❤ ) to really get into Minecraft, so it’s probably safe to say that “building games” aren’t really for me. Seeing huge Minecraft creations never bothered me, though, because, in effect, they were just blocks stacked on blocks. I always had an “I could do that if I really wanted to” feeling.

Landmark is an entirely different story. I look at the creations that Dave Georgeson re-tweets, as well as observing them in the world myself, and I think that never, in a million years, could I pull that off. I like to think I’m good at a lot of things, but two things I am definitely not are a salesman or an artist.

EverQuestNextLandmark64 2014-03-16 16-29-41-09Hence, I haven’t played much Landmark after a few weeks in alpha and a few days in beta. It just needs to be more of a game for me, rather than just a building simulator. The combat update has added some of that, and I’ll be sure to check it out, but I doubt I’ll get really heavily into it until it’s more complete. That’s not what everyone needs, of course, and I’m glad that a lot of people are making a lot of amazing things in it. I’ll get back into it and fiddle around with building up my own meager chunk of real estate… someday.

So is Landmark just “Minecraft Plus”? Or will it be once it’s done? Probably, yeah, but I’m OK with that. I have to give SOE credit for at least recently reaching out of the core MMORPG market for their “clones”: Landmark is a Minecraft “clone,” H1Z1 is a DayZ “clone,” PlanetSide 2 is… well, I’m not sure that it really outright “clones” any other similar games, except for maybe the first PlanetSide.

And in case you were wondering… SOE has done some preliminary planning on a MOBA. During a livestream a few weeks ago, John Smedley said that they had some thoughts on a World War II-style MOBA, with larger-than-usual teams (he said “250 vs. 250”). It hasn’t been canceled, they’re just “waiting on the tech.” So maybe they’re not totally original with their base concepts but it’s better, in my opinion, than “Generic MMORPG Where You Level, Craft, and Raid #273.”

This entry was posted in 50 in 50, MMOs, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 50 MMOs in 50 Days #26: Landmark

  1. Pingback: 50 MMOs in 50 Days #37: PlanetSide 2 | Wintry Mix

Leave a Reply

