50 MMOs in 50 Days #42: Spiral Knights

Last played: 2011
Experience: Very Minimal

At least it isn’t in imminent danger of being shut down, but I did have a bit of a “huh” moment when, just a few hours before I wrote this, I noticed someone in a forum saying he was looking for more people to play Spiral Knights with. It’s just another odd case of me hearing something notable about a game I haven’t played in years just as I’m getting ready to write about it.

Looking for a partner or three seems like a particularly good idea for Spiral Knights, since the gameplay revolves around four-man instanced content accessed via a central hub. Think of it as a cutesy kind of Gauntlet if you want. You and the other knights are stranded on a planet and start your adventure in the Haven, which sits above the Clockworks, which are accessed by a number of gates in Haven. The Clockworks environment you wind up in depends on what minerals are fed into the gates; one combination might lead to a grassland world, which another might lead to an underground lair with all sorts of mechanized monsters.

I love this idea as a way of procedurally generating content. I don’t know exactly how randomized the worlds were, if messing with the minerals in the gates led to totally different layouts or if they just had an effect on the environments. A few other games have also taken this route, but I don’t know if it’s been utilized to its fullest extent in a AAA game. If anyone can think of an example, let me know.

As you can see from the video, combat isn’t just about hacking and slashing waves of weak enemies – though there certainly is plenty of that. I suppose my issue with the game was both my lack of someone to play with and the relative sparsity of abilities. I seem to recall having a sword, a gun, and a shield, and not much else, though there was a little variety in the different attacks. Not that I’m looking for full MMO-style hotbars with 20+ abilities, but I guess I just need a few more options to keep me entertained.

It also seemed like the only thing to do was kill stuff, repeat, and gear grind. Again, that makes it a bit more like Warframe than a “real” MMO, and I don’t play Warframe for pretty much the same reason: I need a bit more than that to keep me into a game for the long haul. Still, as a hack-and-slasher, it’s pretty fun, and I’d definitely recommend it for the odd evening of simple fun, especially if you can find some friends.

This entry was posted in 50 in 50, MMOs, Video Games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

